Positively Naperville’s 2021 Election Guide

Thanks for visiting the 

2021 PN Election Guide!

Naperville City Council

On Tuesday, April 6, 2021, voters in Naperville will head to the polls to elect members of the nonpartisan Naperville City Council. The City of Naperville is organized under a Council-Manager form of government with eight departments.

The mission of the government of the City of Naperville – “To provide services that ensure a high quality of life, sound fiscal management, and a dynamic business environment, while creating an inclusive community that values diversity.”

The City’s aim is to “be recognized for our exceptional quality of life through a sense of heritage and community in a large metropolitan city.”

Eleven (11) candidates are running to serve one of the four 4-year seats up for election on the 9-member Naperville City Council that includes the mayor. Candidates in ballot order are Paul Leong, John Krummen, Vasavi Chakka, James Haselhorst, Ian Holzhauer, Jennifer Bruzan Taylor, Allison Longenbaugh, Vincent Ory, Lucy Chang Evans, Mark Urda and Benny White. The next mayoral election is 2023.

For the 2021 Consolidated Election, Naperville voters also will go to the polls to elect individuals to serve on School District 203 and School District 204 Boards of Education, Naperville Park District Board of Commissioners and College of DuPage Board of Trustees.

Naperville Park District Board of Commissioners

Naperville Park District Mission: We provide recreation and park experiences that promote healthy lives, healthy minds and a healthy community.

The following eight (8) hopefuls filed petitions to run for one of the four 4-year seats on the 7-member Naperville Park District Board of Commissioners: Lee Kaseska, Nag Jaiswal, Mary Gibson, Leslie Ruffing, Rhonda Ansier, Alison Thompson, Nathan Wilson and Mike King.

Naperville School District 203 Board of Education

Mission Statement: Our mission is to educate students to be self-directed learners, collaborative workers, complex thinkers, quality producers, and community contributors.

Nine (9) hopefuls are running to serve one of four 4-year seats on the School District 203 Board of Education. They are Donna E. Wandke, Kristin W. Fitzgerald, Amanda McMillen, Charles Cush, Christi Helm, Thomas Andrew Binkowski, Robert M. Reed, Adam Russo and William Bernard Eagan, III.

As of early January 2021, it does not appear anyone filed to run for a 2-year term left vacant.

Indian Prairie School District 204 Board of Education

Mission Statement: The mission of Indian Prairie Community Unit School District 204 is to inspire all students to achieve their greatest potential.

Eleven (11) candidates have filed for one of the four 4-year seats on the School District 204 Board of Education: Marina Kosak, Saba Haider, Allison Fosdick, Rajesh Narayan, Kader Sakkaria, Laurie Donahue, Supna C. Jain, Shannon Adcock, Yanmei May Liang, Susan Taylor-Demming and Robert O. Harris.

Local elections matter most…

Be prepared to vote where it matters most – locally. Vote where you can meet, greet and get to know candidates who make decisions with the biggest impact on Naperville. Become familiar with elected officials up close, practicing protocols. Thank you.

Remember! Follow local protocols to remain safe. Wear a mask. Keep your distance. Wash your hands often, but never, ever wash away your commonsense.

A few campaign notes: If more than 16 candidates had filed for any of the the four available seats by Dec. 21, 2020, a Primary would be held in February 2021. Also, taking out a petition packet does not necessarily mean it will be returned by that packet-picker-upper. Registered voters may sign more than one petition if they live in the City of Naperville. Also, residents who live in unincorporated Naperville may not vote for City Council members.

City Council Candidates


Paul Leong

John Krummen

Vasavi Chakka

James Haselhorst

Ian Holzhauer

Jennifer Bruzan Taylor

Allison Longenbaugh

Vincent Ory

Lucy Chang Evans

Mark Urda

Benny White

Vote! It's kind of a big deal.

Park District Candidates


Lee Kaseska

Nag Jaiswal

Mary Gibson

Leslie Ruffing

Rhonda Ansier

Alison Thompson

Nathan Wilson

Mike King

School District 203 Candidates


Donna E. Wandke

Kristin W. Fitzgerald

Amanda McMillen

Charles Cush

Christi Helm

Thomas Andrew Binkowski

Robert M. Reed

Adam Russo

William Bernard Eagan, III

School District 204 Candidates


Marina Kosak

Saba Haider

Allison Fosdick

Rajesh Narayan

Kader Sakkaria

Laurie Donahue

Supna C. Jain

Shannon Adcock

Yanmei May Liang

Susan Taylor-Demming

Robert O. Harris

Vote! It's kind of a big deal.

Get the Daily Square-Scoop. Local Headlines Most Mornings. 
Share This